1. K-State home
  2. »Research and Extension
  3. »Johnson County
  4. »About
  5. »Extension Council

Johnson County

Extension Council

The Johnson County Extension Council is composed of 24 members.

Six members are elected in each of the four Extension program areas: Agriculture and Natural Resources, Family and Consumer Sciences, 4-H/Youth Development, and Community Development.

The Extension Council represents the citizens of Johnson County, Kansas. They are the “voice” of the community, giving the agents and Extension Director feedback and guidance. They are made up of business people, community leaders, farmers, home makers, teachers, etc, and have an interest in Extension.

Johnson County Extension Executive Board 2018

  • Chairperson: Larry Justice
  • Vice Chairperson: Jean Porter
  • Secretary: Stephanie Marksz
  • Treasurer: Susie Mize

Board Members at Large

  • Nancy Chapman
  • Julie Dowd
  • Pete Goetzmann
  • Michael McDermott
  • Kim Romary

Anyone interested in running for Council who meet the eligibility requirements, can fill out a nomination form and turn it in up until the morning of the Extension Council election, which is usually held in early October each year. To get more information on how you could be nominated, how you can vote, and the overall election process, contact the Dan Lekie, County Extension Director.

Executive Board Elections

Following the elections, the new County Extension Council elects from its own members nine individuals to serve on the County Extension Executive Board, consisting of a chair, vice chair, secretary, treasurer and five other members. This takes place at the Annual Meeting, usually held three weeks after the election.


Extension Council Election, Johnson County Extension Council

To: The Voters of Johnson County, State of Kansas, Election at Large.

PUBLIC NOTICE is hereby given in accordance with K.S.A. 2-611, as amended, State of Kansas, that on the date at the time and place mentioned below, the citizens of voting age of Johnson County shall meet for the purpose of electing twelve members, three members for Agricultural Pursuits, three members for Home Economics Work, three members for 4-H Club and Youth Work, and three members for Economic Development Initiatives, as Representatives to the County Extension Council/Johnson County.

Date: Tuesday, October 10, 2017        Time: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Place: Johnson County Extension Office,
Suite 1500, 11811 S. Sunset Drive, Olathe, KS

Consideration shall be given to the Extension Program for Johnson County.
Larry Justice, Executive Board, Chair, KSU 8-24a (2003)

Eligibility Requirements:

Each member is elected for a two-year term and may be elected for two consecutive terms. To qualify for election to the council, a candidate must be a resident of the county and at least 18 years of age when elected.